Tokyo (Japanese:聽[to藧kjo藧], English /to蕣ki.o蕣/), officially Tokyo Metropolis,[4] is one of the 47 prefectures of Japan,[5] and is both the capital and most populous city of Japan. The Greater Tokyo Area is the most populous metropolitan area in the world.[6] It is the seat of the Emperor of Japan and the Japanese government. Tokyo is in the Kant艒 region on the southeastern side of the main island Honshu and includes the Izu Islands and Ogasawara Islands.[7] Formerly known as Edo, it has been the de facto seat of government since 1603 when Shogun Tokugawa Ieyasu made the city his headquarters. It officially became the capital after Emperor Meiji moved his seat to the city from the old capital of Kyoto in 1868; at that time Edo was renamed Tokyo. Tokyo Metropolis was formed in 1943 from the merger of the former Tokyo Prefecture (鏉变含搴 T艒ky艒-fu) and the city of Tokyo (鏉变含甯 T艒ky艒-shi).

  • Japan
  • Visa in not needed for EU citizens. Everyone else need a visa.
  • English, Japanese
  • USD, YEN
  • 2,187.66 km2


 mapa height 600

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.