Singapore (Listeni/╦łs╔¬┼ő╔í╔Öp╔ö╦Ér/), officially the Republic of Singapore, and often referred to as the Lion City or the Little Red Dot, is a sovereign city-state in Southeast Asia, and the world’s only island city-state. It lies one degree (137┬ákm) north of the equator, south of the southernmost tip of continental Asia and peninsular Malaysia, with Indonesia‘s Riau Islands to the south. Singapore’s territory consists of a diamond-shaped main island along with 62 other islets. Since independence, extensive land reclamation has increased its total size by 23% (130┬ákm2), and its greening policy has covered the densely populated island with tropical flora, parks and gardens.

In 1819, Stamford Raffles founded colonial Singapore as a trading post of the East India Company; after the establishment of the British Raj, the islands were ceded to Britain and became part of its Straits Settlements in 1826. During World War II, Singapore was occupied by Japan. It gained independence from the UK in 1963 by federating with other former British territories to form Malaysia, but was expelled two years later over ideological differences. After early years of turbulence, and despite lacking natural resources and a hinterland, the nation developed rapidly as an Asian Tiger economy, based on external trade and its workforce.

Singapore is a global commerce, finance and transport hub. Its standings include: the most ┬źtechnology-ready┬╗ nation (WEF), top International-meetings city (UIA), city with ┬źbest investment potential┬╗ (BERI), 2nd-most competitive country, 3rd-largest foreign exchange market, 3rd-largest financial centre, 3rd-largest oil refining and trading centre, and the second busiest container port. The country has also been identified as a tax haven.

  • Singapore
  • Singapore is ranked 11th internationally
  • English, chinese
  • USD
  • 719.1 km2



 mapa height 600

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.